SCORM explained to teachers

Inside SCORM - Key concepts

SCORM (version 1.2) has three parts:

1. Overview

General information on the model, vision and future of the standard

2. Content Aggregation Model (CAM) - how to put learning content together so it can be moved and reused.

This is a group of specifications which define components, metadata, and how to produce content packages that can be used by an LMS and stored in a repository.

3. Run Time Environment: How content is launched and the learner's progress is tracked and reported back.

This is the set of specifications to trace the activities, in particular to activate the communication between an SCO and an LMS, to exchange data and to terminate the communication.

In the SCORM 2004 version, a fourth component has been added:

4. The Sequencing and Navigation Specification

It specifies how the learner can navigate between parts of the course (SCOs).

The most recent version of SCORM is SCORM 2004 but currently the SCORM version 1.2 from 2001 is the most widely used.